Tiger McKee

Shootrite Firearms Academy

Glock 1-2-3

ImageGlocks are great pistols. I have several of them, all 19’s, and lately have been practicing with ’em on the range. But, like every other weapon I have, I found they needed some work to make them fit me.

My favorite 19 I have is a Gen II, without finger grooves, so that’s the one I chose to modify. Step one was installing good sights. An order to Brownells put a set of XS tritium sights on the bench, (006-000-061) medium size dot. The instructions were clear and precise, tools were included, and skill required minimum – my favorite combination. A few minutes of shop time had them installed. A few rounds downrange, a little adjusting on the rear sight, and I called it good and locked it down.

The second modification was to install an extended mag release. The Glock is a little fat for my hands. With the extended release I don’t have to twist my hand around the pistol as much to drop the magazine. My order from Brownells included a Vickers mag release, (100-003-404) which is 3/32’s of an inch longer than the factory release. I know nothing about Glocks, but a few minutes on the ‘net provided the info needed to remove and replace this part. Installation was easy, again something almost anyone can do, and for my hand size it works great.

The Glock was slippery, especially when sweating, so I had wrapped athletic tape around the grip to provide me with additional friction. This worked ok, but not well enough, plus it didn’t really look that great, especially if I was going to be using when teaching. Since this was a DIY project I didn’t want to send it off to have the grip re-worked, so I decided to attack it with a soldering iron and give it a stipple pattern.

Stippling the grip was easy, but if you’re thinking about doing this a few words of advice. First, always wear eye protection whenever performing any shop work. Second, have a fan near to blow the fumes of melting plastic away from the air-holes in your head. Practice on something else before doing the work on your pistol to get a feel for the technique. Start out slow and careful; some of the areas are thin and it wouldn’t a lot of heat or pressure to burn a hole right through. Move from one area to another frequently so you don’t overheat the grip and deform it. Mark out where you want to stipple with a pen to provide you with a boundary, and use a metal ruler as a guide for clean, straight lines. When you’re done use sandpaper to remove any sharp edges and smooth out the texture some.

The stippling, combined with the sights and mag release, created a totally new feeling pistol. I’ve had this pistol for years just because I figured everyone needs a couple of Glock 19’s. Now I have something I like and will probably end up carrying. And, I did it all at home for cheap.

September 13, 2012 - Posted by | Auto Pistol

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

