Tiger McKee

Shootrite Firearms Academy

Revolver Stocks

To operate a pistol effectively the weapon has to fit your hand; a proper grip is especially important with revolvers. The good thing is that revolver stocks, what most people call “grips,” come in a variety of shapes, sizes, and materials. Working through the different type stocks allows you to determine what style works best for you.

Stocks come in smooth, no finger groves on the front, with finger groves, slim and thick, and with the grip extended on the bottom to provide more area for your hand to grip. You can get stocks made of composite material, in rubber, and of course wood.

When it comes to outfitting my revolvers with stocks looks are not a major concern. My focus is function, and under all conditions, wet, wearing gloves, or with only one hand.

Lately I’ve brought some revolvers out of the safe to start shooting more. I need to put proper stocks on them, had recently received my new Brownells catalog, http://www.brownells.com/ and a few days later hit the shop. First on the list is a couple of J frame S&W’s. A rubber Pachmayr grip without finger grooves feels great on a 640-1, a J frame .357. It’s a little larger grip than normal, but with full load .357’s I need the size to control the pistol. For my snubbie .38 I picked one of Ahrends’ Boot stocks, cut from cocobolo wood and without finger grooves. This small grip is ideal for concealed carry, especially in an ankle holster. Future plans include some of Ahrends’ Retro Target Stocks for a pair of K frame model 13’s I’m putting together as twins.

My favorite S&W’s are the K frames. The size of the frame fits my hand and the .357 is a proven round when it comes to stopping power. My Model 13, a three-inch that’s been reworked by the S&W Performance Center, has Spegel stocks, which have finger grooves that actually feel right in my hands. I can’t remember where the Spegel stocks came from, but the website is: http://www.craigspegel.com/.

There are also stocks that convert your round-butt revolver into a square-butt. For shootin’ I prefer the square-butt stocks; with my hand size and shape they provide a good consistent grip. The round-butt revolvers are generally preferred for concealed carry because they don’t print as much due to the shape of the frame’s grip.

The proper stocks on your revolver are key to finger placement on the trigger. Having the correct grip and finger placement, basically the proper geometry between your hand and the pistol, makes it possible to press even a heavy trigger smoothly.

You’ll also need to make sure your pistol’s stocks will allow you to use a speed-loader. I have seen stocks that were too large, blocking the loader from centering on the cylinder for loading.

Proper fit for revolvers is critical to performance. If you carry a revolver find the grip that works for you. And as always, make sure you practice it, a lot.

August 30, 2011 - Posted by | Auto Pistol, Gear

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

