Tiger McKee

Shootrite Firearms Academy

Favorite Holsters

When it comes to holsters there is a lot of personal preference involved, and you may have to go through a few until you find what fits your needs. However, that doesn’t mean you want to spend a small fortune and end of with boxes full of old holsters that don’t work for you. So since a common question from students is about holsters I thought I would mention my three favorites.

When it comes to leather, Milt Sparks (http://www.miltsparks.com) is always my first choice. I’ve been using them for about twenty years now and have never experienced a problem. For concealed carry I use their “Summer Special,” an IWB (inside the waistband holster.) My first one lasted fourteen years before I had to replace it.) The BN55 is another Sparks holster that sees a lot of use, on and off the range. Both of these holsters have a metal band around their mouth so the holster doesn’t collapse when the pistol is removed, which means you can re-holster easily. This is an essential feature for me, especially on an IWB holster.

Alan Miller, who runs Aholster Company (http://www.lefthandholster.com) makes all my kydex gear, and I wear his “Belt Holster” more than any of the other holsters I use. I met Alan when he came to Shootrite as a student. He brought some of his samples, and sold about five holsters to people, including me. Through the years he’s continued to grow as an artist, and makes everything from belt, IWB, and pocket holsters to mag pouches to go with them. The great thing about Alan is that he runs a small operation that provides excellent customer service. When you place an order you can speak to him, he lets you know your holster is about ready, and you’ll get another notice when it ships. This service, along with his great products, is what keeps me coming back. (Keep an eye out for a holster Alan and I have been working on together specifically designed to hold up to the tortures of training/practice.)

Renegade Holsters makes the “Cozy Partner” ankle holsters we use. One of my instructing mentors Ray Coffman – a lot of you will remember Ray from Thunder Ranch, Texas – showed me the Renegade ankle holster, I wore it for a day with a snub-nose revolver, and ordered one the next day. Renegade doesn’t have a website, which is kind of cool I think, so you’ll have to find a retailer that sells their gear, or call them at (602) 482-6777.

Should you need a holster with retention capabilities, but without the bulk of a traditional duty holster, you can’t beat Blackhawk’s Serpa holsters. They come in enough variations that you can hang one anywhere, even underneath your desk, and they offer duty holsters up to Level 3 retention. This holster is seeing a lot of use, in high-demand environments, and it’s holding up well.

These are some of the holsters I’ve found that work for me, and that I suggest to others. Now it’s up to you to find what works for your application. Just keep in mind that a good holster, belt, pouches, and such will cost some money, but this stuff is just as important as any other piece of gear you use.

September 19, 2010 - Posted by | Auto Pistol, Concealed Carry, Gear

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

