Tiger McKee

Shootrite Firearms Academy

Faith and Fighting

A man without faith is a man who has nothing to lose, and therefore nothing worth fighting for other than himself. To fight effectively you have to believe in something, and be willing to risk your life fighting for that belief. Those who have nothing to fight for sell their life too cheap.

In my younger days I looked at Christianity as a crutch for weaker people. Thankfully this viewpoint changed, and over time I began to see religion as an unlimited source of strength and power. Your pistol may fail, a rifle can stop working, and your best dog may bite you. I know in my heart I can put my full faith in my Lord, and that I serve a power that is beyond anything else that exists. This provides me with peace and security. No matter what may happen my Lord has prepared me for it. Having this mindset, which is completely at rest, allows me to fight effectively.

Belief in a higher power provides one with confidence. To fight you must acknowledge that you may have to die. We will all die someday. A warrior knows that when called he will give his life for a higher purpose, but he will never let it be taken from him. A warrior also understands that they may be put into a bad place to fight against evil, and no matter what happens their actions will be true. The end results are unknown to me, but to fight properly I must move beyond thoughts of winning or losing. If you’re concerned with the outcome of the fight, you won’t apply your skills properly; you’ll hesitate when the time comes. Where victory already exists, and by victory I mean the will of a power that controls all things, I am not concerned about the possibility of loss. Being a Christian provides me with a belief system that allows me to totally focus on the task at hand. I can concentrate completely on the process of fighting, without worry of injury, defeat, or death.

The samurai of feudal Japan were taught to fight as though already dead. Only after accepting death could they fight, and win, against overwhelming odds. This is the way of a true warrior. And you don’t have to be a “death-dealing-ninja” to be a warrior. Just think of all the men and women who have given their lives to further a cause greater than themselves. The warrior is the one who fights, without weapons if necessary, without hope of living, and with assurance that their sacrifice will further the goals of a higher authority. This is the path to true victory.

September 19, 2010 - Posted by | Defensive Mindset, General Training

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

